Board of directors

Terry Downing
B Comm; M Mgmt; CPA; FAICD; ANZIIF (Fellow)

Chairman, Non-executive Director

Terry has extensive experience as a non-executive director with current and prior roles in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors. Over 35 years’ experience in the financial services sector in Australia and Asia as a director, senior executive and consultant. Terry has been a Director of Argyle Community Housing Limited since April 2012.

Special responsibilities: Chairman.


Peter Beer

Vice Chairman

Peter is a qualified Building Surveyor, Town Planner and Health Surveyor. Predominantly involved with local government his experience also includes inter-state community and housing policy. Formerly Director of Environmental Services of four councils; Deputy Mayor and a Councilor with Snowy River Shire Council and Chairman of the Monaro Tenancy Scheme. Currently, Chairman of Monaro Housing Taskforce, Member South East and Southern NSW Resource Recovery Group and Member Monaro Local Area Command and Safety Committee. Peter is a director of Southern Cross Community Housing Limited.

Special responsibilities: Member of the Audit, Risk & Governance Committee and Remuneration Committee.


Claire Davis  
BA (Hons) Accy, FCA, GAICD, GradCertExecLead

Non-executive Director

Claire brings over 20 years’ experience in the not for profit housing sector in both Australia and the UK. Her governance and leadership roles have included chair, chair of finance & audit committee, board member, chief finance officer and director of corporate services. Claire has also worked in the commercial sector from brands such as Golden Circle and Ernst & Young enabling her to blend the best of commercial and not for profit practice. Claire coaches executives and business leaders to leadership excellence and developing high performing teams.

Special responsibilities: Member of the Audit, Risk & Governance Committee.


Robert Elvy

Non-executive Director

Bob has board and extensive board committee experience in the building and construction industry, government entities and banking sectors. He brings significant financial, accounting and business management skills. Director and former CEO of Cleary Bros Group, Deputy-Chairman of IMB Limited, Chairman of Illawarra Sports Stadium Limited and a member of Business and Support Committee, Wollongong Legacy. Formerly, chairman of Port Kembla Port Corporation.

Special responsibilities: Member of the Audit, Risk & Governance Committee and New Business Opportunities Committee.


Craig Lee
BEcon, BA (Asian Studies), MBus (Banking & Finance), GAICD

Non-executive Director

An experienced non-executive director. Thirty year executive career in banking, finance and insurance specialising in infrastructure projects, real estate and complex property-based structured finance transactions. A range of leadership roles with major international financial institutions in London, Tokyo, Singapore and Sydney. Current board member of the Future Business Council, Assured Guaranty Services (Australia) Pty Limited, Baragoola Preservation Assoc Inc and University & Schools Club of Sydney Limited. Prior roles include non-executive vice chairman of L J Hooker International Limited.

Special responsibilities: Member of the New Business Opportunities Committee and Remuneration Committee.


Vanessa Morschel
BA BusLaw & Human Geography, AdvDip Property Valuation, MSocSc, DipMgt, MAICD

Non-executive Director

Vanessa has 10 years’ experience in town planning, real estate valuations and development management and in depth knowledge of housing affordability. Prior experience has included working for local councils in Wollondilly, The Hills and Camden on strategic planning, development assessments and s.94 Local Development Contributions Plans. Currently working for Greenfields Development Company Pty Limited to deliver Oran Park Town.

Special responsibilities: Member of the New Business Opportunities Committee.


Stephen Quill
BE (Civil)

Non-executive Director

Steve has had a successful 35 year career at a senior level in the development and construction of major projects around Australia. Those projects include the $350M mixed-use development ‘The Village Balgowlah’ and visions, options and business cases for the redevelopment of White Bay Power Station, for the first time at no overall cost to government. Steve has held senior executive roles with Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority, Stockland Property Group, AMP Capital Investors and Lend Lease. Prior to his appointment to the BlueCHP board he was a strategic development advisor to the Group.

Special responsibilities: Member of the New Business Opportunities Committee.


Tony Waters
BASocSc (majors Econ & Law), CertCom Acct Procedures, DipAICD

Non-executive Director

Recently retired from a career spanning more than 40 years in senior roles, half of which involved developing and implementing social housing and homelessness policy and programs. Tony’s final role was as Deputy Director-General, Housing Services Queensland Department of Housing and Public Works. There he advanced the role of not-for-profit community housing providers. He has worked successfully with the housing industry to deliver both large and small scale housing maintenance, renewal and construction programs. Formerly a member of a number of government based boards of management.

Special responsibilities: Member of the Audit, Risk & Governance Committee and Remuneration Committee.